top of page
  • Writer's pictureAnthony Martinez

Palm Desert Target Evacuated After Person Armed With A Handgun

The Target was temporarily evacuated after a person was armed with a handgun inside the store, police confirmed.

The incident was reported at 12:50 p.m. The subjects were involved in a physical altercation inside the store. It was reported one of the subjects was armed with a handgun.


KESQ (Palm Desert's Local TV Station) spoke with the man called a hero who helped subdue the armed subject. "I was in the store and I heard a scuffle, I looked and they were both fighting and one of the guys in a hat said he had a gun. I had no choice but the butt in, I grabbed the guy and I told the guy with the hat to grab the gun because he had his hand on the trigger."


Deputies were able to locate the suspect and take them into custody. There was no additional information on the identity of the suspect.

No injuries have been reported since the subject entered the target. Shoppers were allowed back into the store at about 2:50 p.m


According to KESQ three Sheriff's units remained outside the store for a short time but cleared out by 3:05 p.m.



Comments


bottom of page